Skip to content
Home | Awards Information

Faculty Awards Information

Each year the University honors members of the faculty and staff who have demonstrated excellence in their teaching, research and community service. OFDAS administers the selection process for the following Mānoa faculty awards:

  1. Excellence in Teaching Awards, includes the following:
    • Board of Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching
    • Presidential Citation for Meritorious Teaching
    • Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  2. Robert W. Clopton Award for Distinguished Community Service

The office has pioneered the development of a quantitative screening and qualitative peer review procedure. OFDAS also assists with the annual Mānoa Awards Ceremony, which recognizes these and other Mānoa award recipients.

Dates (TBA)Processes and Important Deadlines
Mid-SeptemberExcellence in Teaching Awards Online Nomination Process Begins
Announced to College and School Deans, Liaisons and Department Chairs. A campus-wide announcement to UH Mānoa community (OR faculty, staff and students) via Announce@UH and post to UH Mānoa Calendar of Events.
Mid-October to DecemberDeadline to Submit Online Nominations
List of nominations are sent each respective college/school liaison and nominees are  informed of their nominations.
Nominees prepare Awards Application Dossiers.

College/School Review Dossiers and Select College/School Finalists.
Mid-DecemberRobert W. Clopton Award for Distinguished Community Service Nomination Process Begins
Early-JanuaryDeadline to submit College/School finalist dossiers to OFDAS
January to FebruaryMānoa Honors & Awards Committee (MHAC) Reading, Review and Evaluation
March to AprilMHAC finalize award recommendations to President &/or Provost.

Notification to award applicants and respective College/Schools.
April or MayAnnouncement of Award Recipients
Last update 5/4/2022
Teaching Awards Dossier Library Logo