Skip to content
Home | ACUE

Congratulations ACUE Course Participants!

CTE is delighted to celebrate UH Mānoa faculty cohorts’ success in completing the ACUE Course in Effective Teaching Practices. ACUE Course participants have demonstrated exemplary commitment to impacting student success and equity, thus becoming a strong community of teacher-scholars. 

ACUE Faculty Development Course for Effective Teaching Practices

Coordinated by the OFDAS Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE), the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa is participating in a major national study of gateway courses in partnership with the Association of College and University Educators (ACUE).

Funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the study examines the relationship between evidence-based instruction and student outcomes. The faculty development course, launched in spring and continuing in fall 2022 through ACUE, is preparing faculty in evidence-based teaching practices proven through independently-validated research to improve student achievement and close equity gaps. 

At completion of the program, participating faculty will be awarded a nationally recognized Certificate in Effective College Instruction, the only college teaching credential endorsed by the American Council on Education (ACE).  

Faculty who have already earned their ACUE credential, including faculty from UH Windward are extraordinarily enthusiastic about this experience, and CTE is delighted to support this opportunity for our Mānoa faculty.

UH Mānoa was selected based on our proven commitment to student success and equity. Other institutions participating in this study represents a diverse cross section of American higher education. Institutes include:

  • California State University Northridge
  • North Carolina A&T University
  • Ivy Tech Community College
  • Borough of Manhattan Community College-CUNY
  • University of Houston

More than 450

Colleges, Universities, and Systems


Participating Colleagues and Growing

Program Facilitators

Ariana Eichelberger
Amy Hubbard
Elisabeth Steele Hutchison

Questions about UH ACUE?
Email us at

Special thanks to all of the faculty teaching gateway courses
who have contributed to the Gates project.

ACUE Ceremony Group photo
Spring 2023 ACUE Pinning Ceremony group photo, UH Mānoa

UH Mānoa ACUE Cohort

The Office of Faculty Development and Academic Support is grateful for the participation of cohort faculty in the Association of College and University Educators’ (ACUE) Course in Effective Teaching Practices. In addition to the individual benefits our Mānoa students have received from the following faculty’s exploration of new teaching practices, contributions to this important research effort are incredibly valuable to future students nationwide. Mahalo!

The program involves participation of the:
  • Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Excellence
  • Office of Student Academic Success
  • OFDAS Center for Teaching Excellence
Related Links

Association of College and University Educators (ACUE) 

ACUE: February 2023 Newsletter

Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Excellence

UH News: 1st cohort to use new approaches to improve student learning


Presley Kealaanuhea Ah Mook Sang

Precious Mae B. Arao*

digital badge Ruben E. Campos, Jr.

digital badge Rebecca T. Carino-Agustin

digital badge Michael J. Cooney

Lucia Palacios Corcuera*

Curtis C. Daehler

Frank E. K. Damas

Joan M. Debrah*

digital badge Ariana Eichelberger

Jake M. Ferguson

digital badge Sean Forte

digital badge Kiana L. Frank

digital badge Amy L. Fuller

Dawn M. F. Furushima*

digital badge Karyl Garland

digital badge Imelda F. Gasmen

digital badge Gary H. R. Glauberman

Alex J. Golub

digital badge Jennifer D. S. Griswold

digital badge Hien T. Ha

digital badge Lara J. Hackney

digital badge Yanghua He

digital badge Jason Kenji P. Higa

digital badge Amy Hubbard

digital badge Elisabeth Steele Hutchison

Scott N. Kaalele

digital badge Katherine K. H. Kim

digital badge I sak Kim

digital badge Luisa E. Kou Wong

digital badge Ava H. K. Ladner

digital badge Eric A. Lauritzen

Paul A. Lavy

Kate A. Lingley*

Jessica Kahealani Lono

Kevin W. Magnuson

digital badge Ed McAssey

Paul B. McKimmy**

digital badge Carleton A. Moore

digital badge Christopher D. Muir

Thanh Truc T. Nguyen

digital badge Michaela R. Nuesser

digital badge Michael-Brian C. Ogawa

digital badge Brett Oppegaard

Nadezna A. Ortega*

digital badge Jeffrey Lorenzo Perillo

Joanna K. Philippoff

Seth Quintus**

Grace E. Ray

Lisa Hinano Rey*

digital badge Erin M. L. Robinson

digital badge Kristine V. H. Santaniello

digital badge Thomas D Scheiding

digital badge Howard C. Shen

Ron Kekeha Solis

digital badge Jay S. Stout

digital badge EunBin Suk

John D. Szostak*

Monica Vidal

digital badge Kevin R. Wilkins

Noah Ha‘alilio Williams-Solomon**

digital badge Patrick C. K. Woo

Tatiana K. Young

digital badge Jonathan S. Young

digital badge Yiqiang Zhang

digital badge Indicates course completion (4 badges)
* Number of asterisks indicate the number of badges earned by each faculty.

92% Surveyed faculty would recommend ACUE’s courses to their peers.

Source: ACUE program-wide end-of-course survey statistics